Sonic Bloom: Music of Bruckner, Esmail, and Gabrieli

Sonic Bloom: Music of Bruckner, Esmail, and Gabrieli
Sunday, March 10, 2024 | 4pm

Immerse yourself in the music of Gabrieli, Bruckner, and Esmail as trumpets and voices resound in the vast expanse of the Cathedral Nave.

Experience the architecture of Washington National Cathedral like never before: with trumpets, drums, and voices echoing throughout the majestic arches. Composer Reena Esmail has composed new works especially for the space, to be paired with choral treasures for brass and chorus by Giovanni Gabrieli and Anton Bruckner. Enjoy a rare opportunity to hear Bruckner’s Mass in E Minor in its entirety!


Magnificat á 12: Andrea Gabrieli
Motet: Christus factus est: Anton Bruckner
Exaltations I: Gloria (world premiere): Reena Esmail
Motet: Locus iste: Anton Bruckner
Motet: O sacrum convivium á 5: Andrea Gabrieli
Exaltations II. Alleluia (world premiere): Reena Esmail
Motet: Os justi: Anton Bruckner
Motet: O magnum mysterium á 8: Giovanni Gabrieli
Exaltations III. Hosanna (world premiere): Reena Esmail
Mass No. 2 in E Minor: Anton Bruckner


Steven Fox, conductor
The Cathedral Choral Society
Reena Esmail, composer